BLACKTHORN BOOK TOURS : COLONY #18

 

“As a debut novel, Colony is too good to be true.” Reedsy Discovery

“Colony is a brilliant novel that ticks all the boxes for a fast-paced and intelligent read. Benjamin Cross is able to create intrigue from the first page…” Readers’ Favorite

“Deliciously terrifying. Cross is a talented new voice.” #1 bestselling thriller author Avanti Centrae

About the Author:

Benjamin Cross has an M.Phil. in Landscape Archaeology from the University of Oxford. He’s been lucky enough to explore some of the world’s most spectacular ancient sites; from the temples of Cambodia to the Andean cloud forest cities of Peru; from the burial sites of the Tibetan plateau to the Maori strongholds of New Zealand.

He is now an Associate Director of Heritage and Archaeology at a national consultancy and is a member of the Chartered Institute for Archaeologists. Colony is Benjamin’s first novel and it was written whilst he worked full-time as a professional archaeologist.


 Media links:

 Website: https://www.benjamin-cross.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BenCross_author

 

(PIC)

 

Title: COLONY
Author: BENJAMIN CROSS
Format:ebook
Page:383
Genre: Thriller

A remote, mist-shrouded island in the Russian Arctic. A team of international scientists are hard at work. Amongst them, Doctor Callum Ross, Professor of Archaeology, makes the discovery of a lifetime: a prehistoric ice mummy, preserved for thousands of years by the sub-zero temperatures. Only, whoever it was didn’t die of natural causes… As Callum races to unravel the mystery, a terror plot leaves him and his colleagues stranded on the island. And they are not alone. Someone – or something – is stalking them. As the arctic mist descends and the death toll rises, Callum finds himself embroiled in a nightmare fight for survival, involving submarines, cyber warfare and Spetsnaz. A secret has awoken on Harmsworth, a secret so ancient it’s been overlooked by time itself. And nothing can prepare Callum for the terror that survives, deep within the island’s heart. An edge-of-your seat action thriller that will appeal to fans of James Rollins, Clive Cussler, Michael Crichton and Clive Cussler.

Well as a fan of Dinosaurs. I would definitely love anything that related to it and the moment they start talking about dinosaurs, I feels alive! (you know like the anime character, who have shiny eyes when they're excited. Yes! that's happens to me) and I have to admit that after reading the blurb my main attraction to read this book when they mentioning about ice mummy.  

Callum as a main character in this story is perfectly imperfect. Every action that we take has consequences. In Callum's life, his dedication to work has cost him his family. One after one tragedy happens starting with missing people, explosion of their boat. accompany with something mysterious that hiding in the mist that stalking them during the journey, do they stay alive until the end?


Even though it contain some cliche part when the antagonist wants to destroy the mission and have a double agent inside the mission but I still enjoy reading this book. Colony is a fast-paced book with a Russian Arctic background. Benjamin using his expertise in landscape and archeology describing about Callum's  journey in this book and the last 100 pages really make me blows my mind. You won't believed the appearance of the baby monster! in this story. 

Chapter by chapter you will be served by the unexpected scenario. You will be dealing with suspend all the time. The plot development really make me hooked to this book even though it stated about 383 pages but you won't feel burden reading this book. 

Overall I give

 over






CONVERSATION

4 Comments:

  1. Alaamkk buku thriller tebal ni klu k ret rs nya x abs baca ni heheh

    ReplyDelete
  2. 4 over 5 stars means its good

    ReplyDelete
  3. Walaupun ada isinya cliche tapi garapan yang berbeza membuatkan pembacaan jadi seronok man AD..

    ReplyDelete

anakdenesor's bookshelf

The Same Inside: Poems about Empathy and Friendship
When I Was a Kid 5
The Midnight Library
Zita the Spacegirl
Claudia and Mean Janine
Pahang, Koi Datang!
Lucy & Andy Neanderthal
Dreamy Days and Random Naps
Captain Clive's Dreamworld
Bernice Takes a Plunge
SANCTUARIA
MENTAL
天からの贈り物
Selamat Malam Nostalgia


anakdenesor's favorite books »